Change DirSync Sync Interval

Microsoft 365

How do we change the DirSync sync interval from the default value to the one we want?

Many a times you want to have a DirSync run for a change to take effect straight away from an on-premise to Office 365 or you may find that the default interval of 3 hours is not good enough for you. The 3 hours is the time between a completed directory synchronization and the next one starting.

The time interval between DirSync process is defined in the Microsoft.Online.DirSync.Scheduler.exe.config file found in C:\Program Files\Windows Azure Active Directory Sync.

DirSync Config File

For older version of DirSync (yes, the migrations that have been going on for years without a change), the file will be in C:\Program Files\Microsoft Online Directory Sync folder.

Open the file using notepad and edit the value for “SyncTimeInterval” to the one you want. It is in hh:mm:ss format.

Hence, if you want to change the DirSync interval from 3 hours to 30 minutes, change the value to 0:30:0 and save the file.

Change DirSync Interval

Once the change has been made, restart the Windows Azure Active Directory Sync Service. In older versions, it will be named as Microsoft Online Services Directory Synchronization Service.

DirSyc Service

Other Popular Articles


Set Edge As Default Browser Using Intune

Set Microsoft Edge As Default Browser Using Intune

Getting Started With Entra ID

Getting Started With Entra ID

How To Remove Teams Sharing Toolbar While Presenting

How To Remove Teams Sharing Toolbar While Presenting

Leave a Comment

Set Microsoft Edge As Default Browser Using Intune

The video below goes through the process of setting up Microsoft Edge as the default browser on a Windows 11 machine using Intune.

Set Microsoft Edge As Default Browser On Windows 11 Using Intune

Getting Started With Entra ID

The video below is aimed at complete beginners who can master the Identity portion of Entra ID in about 90 minutes.

Getting Started With Entra ID - Complete Beginner's Guide

How To Remove Teams Sharing Toolbar While Presenting

The new version of Microsoft Teams bring the ‘annoying’ sharing toolbar in the top middle of the screen while you are presenting in a Teams meeting. There is no way to remove the toolbar which come in between various tabs in a browser or applications that you want to move around.

The video below explains a workaround to remove this sharing toolbar for good while presenting. Hopefully Microsoft will add an option within the app to remove this in the near future.

How To Remove Teams Sharing Toolbar While Presenting